Feel-good Product Review: Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub

Once upon a time I moved to NYC and lived a few steps away from a cookie shop. One afternoon, after buying a chocolate chip cookie and walking out of the cookie shop, my eyes widened as I saw what I thought were colorful-looking ice cream cones in the window of the store next door called Lush! Excited, I quickly headed into the store only to be greeted by soapy, flowery smells–what I thought was ice cream was actually soap–major turn off. Long story short, I never went into that store again because I thought ice cream looking soap was just weird…

Until a few weeks ago, when I got to talking to this guy in my meditation course. He had a Nivea lip balm next to his mat at all times, which I thought was funny because I always have my Burt’s Bees Pomegranate lip balm next to me at all times. I’m attached to my lip balm and without it I feel empty. Let me explain why:

I have incredibly dry lips. I’ve had this problem since I was a teenager and I’ve relied on lip balms since middle school. It started with Carmex, then Blistex, then a good three year spree with Vaseline, then Chapstick, and now it’s Burt’s Bees. It’s always been a problem and it’s especially worse and painful during the winter.

So back to the guy in my meditation course- turns out he shares my pain and suffers from dry, cracked lips too. However, he swore on the Mint Julips Lip Scrub from what do you know, Lush!

Intrigued, I hurried over to Lush to get my hands on this miracle product after class. Come to find out, the store carried a lot of great and interesting products–everything in Lush is fresh and organic, and made using only vegetarian ingredients. Many of the products are actually hand-made that same day, which was the case of my Lip Scrub.

Image

Mint Julips Lip Scrub

This scrub was $8.95 for .8oz which should last you 4-5 months if you use it regularly. It is made mostly of peppermint oil and sweet castor sugar which make your lips feel smooth and tingly. What you do is you take a pea-sized amount and just rub it over your lips. The woman at Lush told me to lick off the excess sugar after use, but as natural as the ingredients are, I would rather not, so I just wipe off.

I could see a great difference after just the first application. The scrub helped remove any dead, loose skin and left my lips feeling cool and soft. It also left a sweet, vanilla, minty taste! I loved it!

I have been using it for a few weeks now and my lips have definitely improved. If I use it both morning and night, my lips stay chapped-free the entire day, given that I still apply my Burt’s Bees. Before, the Burt’s Bees wasn’t enough and my lips would still chap throughout the day. Now, I no longer need to reapply the Burt’s Bees every other hour–giving my lips a deep clean and moisturizing scrub with the Lush Mint Julips at the beginning and end of every day keeps my lips looking healthy and nourished. I would for sure recommend this product to anyone who has terribly dry lips like mine. 

It’s funny thinking about how if I never had that conversation with the guy in my class, I would have kept ignoring the Lush store. Lesson learned, don’t judge a store by its fake ice cream cones! 😉

4 thoughts on “Feel-good Product Review: Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub

    • Thanks for reading! It was a meditation course with the Art of Living foundation. I took a 5-day weekend intro course that taught us breathing techniques. I’m still learning though. If you want more info, let me know I can email you 🙂

Leave a Reply

