I did it!

I’m happy to say that I finally achieved my goal of running over 5 miles straight!
A couple nights ago, I ran from Lower East Side to Upper East Side. There were a few inclines, but I toughed it out. Feels really good 🙂

20130615-123722.jpg

I’m starting to warm up to running. I just realized: isn’t it a great way to sight-see? I’ve lived here almost 2 years, yet it was during my run that I first saw the United Nations campus! I would’ve stopped to take pics, but I was on a roll. 😉

After my run, I decided to make my running endeavor official by getting my first pair of actual running shorts!

20130615-124257.jpg
And after my run, I also picked up a shirt for my first running event!

20130615-124430.jpg
Tomorrow, I’ll be participating in the Girls on the Run 5k. Girls on the Run is an organization that encourages girls 8-13 to be joyful, healthy and confident through a health and wellness program that incorporates running. What a great organization! They have a 5k every year to celebrate, and I’ll be paired with a student as a Running Buddy to help provide support throughout the race. Really excited.

Have a great Saturday!

3 thoughts on “I did it!

Leave a Reply

